You are here

Feed aggregator

NGC 6302: The Butterfly Nebula

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sun, 03/03/2019 - 18:04

The bright clusters and nebulae of planet Earth's night sky are often


A Charioteer s Comet

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sat, 03/02/2019 - 18:01

A Charioteer s Comet


Sharpest Ultima Thule

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Fri, 03/01/2019 - 17:58

On January 1, New Horizons swooped to within 3,500 kilometers of the


Magnetic Orion

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Thu, 02/28/2019 - 17:57

Can magnetism affect how stars form?


Simulation TNG50: A Galaxy Cluster Forms

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Wed, 02/27/2019 - 17:55

How do clusters of galaxies form?


Red Sprite Lightning over Kununurra

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Tue, 02/26/2019 - 17:48

What are those red filaments in the sky?


The Expanding Echoes of Supernova 1987A

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Mon, 02/25/2019 - 17:42

Can you find supernova 1987A?


The Stars of the Triangulum Galaxy

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sun, 02/24/2019 - 17:42

The Stars of the Triangulum Galaxy


NGC 4565: Galaxy on Edge

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sat, 02/23/2019 - 17:41

Magnificent spiral galaxy


Reflections on vdB 9

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Fri, 02/22/2019 - 17:40

Centered in a well-composed celestial still life, pretty,


Doomed Star Eta Carinae

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Thu, 02/21/2019 - 17:39

Eta Carinae may be about to explode.


Comet Iwamoto Before Spiral Galaxy NGC 2903

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Wed, 02/20/2019 - 17:38

It isn't every night that a comet passes a galaxy.


Dragon Aurora over Iceland

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Tue, 02/19/2019 - 17:32

Have you ever seen a dragon in the sky?


Shadow of a Martian Robot

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Mon, 02/18/2019 - 17:31

What if you saw your shadow on Mars and it wasn't


NGC 2359: Thor s Helmet

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sun, 02/17/2019 - 17:31

NGC 2359 is a helmet-shaped cosmic cloud with


Opportunity at Perseverance Valley

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sat, 02/16/2019 - 17:30

Opportunity at Perseverance Valley


Solar System Family Portrait

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Fri, 02/15/2019 - 17:27

Solar System Family Portrait


The Helix Nebula in Hydrogen and Oxygen

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Thu, 02/14/2019 - 17:26

Is the Helix Nebula looking at you?


Plane Crossing a Crescent Moon

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Wed, 02/13/2019 - 17:26

No, this is not a good way to


New Data: Ultima Thule Surprisingly Flat

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Tue, 02/12/2019 - 17:20

Ultima Thule is not the object humanity thought that it was last month.


Pages

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer