You are here

Feed aggregator

The Galaxy Tree

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Tue, 01/01/2019 - 16:04

First came the trees.


New Horizons at Ultima Thule

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sun, 12/30/2018 - 16:00

When we celebrate the start of 2019, on January 1 the


NGC 1365: Majestic Island Universe

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sat, 12/29/2018 - 16:00

Barred spiral galaxy NGC 1365 is truly a majestic


The Great Carina Nebula

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Fri, 12/28/2018 - 15:58

A jewel of the southern sky, the


NGC 6357: The Lobster Nebula

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Thu, 12/27/2018 - 15:57

Why is the Lobster Nebula forming some of the most massive stars known?


M100: A Grand Design Spiral Galaxy

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Wed, 12/26/2018 - 15:57

Majestic on a truly cosmic scale, M100 is appropriately known as a


Earthrise 1: Historic Image Remastered

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Tue, 12/25/2018 - 15:56

"Oh my God! Look at that picture over there!


Earthrise: A Video Reconstruction

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Mon, 12/24/2018 - 15:56

About 12 seconds into this video, something unusual happens.


A Cold December Night

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sun, 12/23/2018 - 15:54

They say Orion


Extraordinary Solar Halos

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sat, 12/22/2018 - 15:51

Welcome to the December Solstice, the first day of winter in planet


Red Nebula, Green Comet, Blue Stars

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Fri, 12/21/2018 - 15:51

Red Nebula, Green Comet, Blue Stars


A Rainbow Geminid Meteor

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Thu, 12/20/2018 - 15:50

Meteors can be colorful.


Methane Bubbles Frozen in Lake Baikal

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Wed, 12/19/2018 - 15:48

What are these bubbles frozen into Lake Baikal?


M31: The Andromeda Galaxy

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Tue, 12/18/2018 - 15:48

What is the nearest major


Comet Wirtanen Passes by the Earth

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Mon, 12/17/2018 - 15:47

Today Comet Wirtanen passes by the Earth.


Geminids and Friends

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sun, 12/16/2018 - 15:43

Geminids and Friends


Swimming on Jupiter

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sat, 12/15/2018 - 15:42

On October 29, the Juno spacecraft once again dove near


3D Bennu

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Fri, 12/14/2018 - 15:40

Put on your red/blue glasses and float next to asteroid


M43: Orion Falls

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Thu, 12/13/2018 - 15:39

Is there a waterfall in Orion?


Arp 188 and the Tadpole's Tail

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Wed, 12/12/2018 - 15:38

Why does this galaxy have such a


Pages

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer