You are here

Feed aggregator

Supernumerary Rainbows over New Jersey

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Wed, 10/03/2018 - 10:47

Yes, but can your rainbow do this?


The First Rocket Launch from Cape Canaveral

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Tue, 10/02/2018 - 10:46

A new chapter in space flight began in 1950 with the


The Lonely Neutron Star in Supernova E0102 72.3

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Mon, 10/01/2018 - 10:46

Why is this neutron star off-center?


55 Nights with Saturn

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sun, 09/30/2018 - 10:37

55 Nights with Saturn


The Light, the Dark, and the Dusty

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sat, 09/29/2018 - 10:37

This colorful skyscape spans about two full moons across nebula rich


M33: Triangulum Galaxy

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Fri, 09/28/2018 - 10:36

The small, northern constellation


The Sun's Spectrum with its Missing Colors

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Thu, 09/27/2018 - 10:36

It is still not known why the Sun's light is missing some colors.


Highlights of the North Autumn Sky

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Wed, 09/26/2018 - 10:34

Highlights of the North Autumn Sky


Rover 1A Hops on Asteroid Ryugu

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Tue, 09/25/2018 - 10:33

Two small robots have begun hopping around the surface of asteroid Ryugu.


Equinox: Analemma over the Callanish Stones

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Mon, 09/24/2018 - 10:25

Does the Sun return to the same spot on the sky every day at the same time?


Window Seat over Hudson Bay

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sun, 09/23/2018 - 10:23

On the August 18 night flight from San Francisco to Zurich,


Irregular Galaxy NGC 55

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sat, 09/22/2018 - 10:23

Irregular galaxy NGC 55 is thought to be similar to the Large Magellanic


Stars and Dust in Corona Australis

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Fri, 09/21/2018 - 10:22

Cosmic dust clouds and young, energetic stars


Cocoon Nebula Deep Field

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Thu, 09/20/2018 - 10:21

Inside the Cocoon Nebula is a newly developing cluster of stars.


Salt Pepper and Ice

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Wed, 09/19/2018 - 10:20

There's a "camera" comet now moving across the sky.


Cosmic Collision Forges Galactic Ring

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Tue, 09/18/2018 - 10:18

How could a galaxy become shaped like a ring?


A Solar Filament Erupts

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Mon, 09/17/2018 - 10:11

What's happened to our Sun?


Mont Blanc, Meteor, and Milky Way

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sun, 09/16/2018 - 10:09

Mont Blanc, Meteor, and Milky Way


Ice Halos at Yellowknife

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sat, 09/15/2018 - 09:57

Ice Halos at Yellowknife


Comet, Clusters, and Nebulae

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Fri, 09/14/2018 - 09:54

Bright enough for binocular viewing


Pages

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer