You are here

Feed aggregator

Perseid by the Sea

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Thu, 08/17/2017 - 22:35

Just after moonrise on August 12 this grain of cosmic sand


Stars, Gas, and Dust Battle in the Carina Nebula

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Wed, 08/16/2017 - 22:13

Chaos reigns in the Carina Nebula where massive stars form and die.


Charon Flyover from New Horizons

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Tue, 08/15/2017 - 21:59

What if you could fly over Pluto's moon Charon -- what might you see?


Detailed View of a Solar Eclipse Corona

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Mon, 08/14/2017 - 21:46

Only in the fleeting darkness of a total solar eclipse is the


A Day in the Life of a Human Sundial

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sun, 08/13/2017 - 21:19

Have you ever wanted to be a gnomon?


A Total Solar Eclipse of Saros 145

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sat, 08/12/2017 - 21:06

A darkened sky holds bright planet Venus, the New Moon in


Night of the Perseids

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Fri, 08/11/2017 - 20:56

Night of the Perseids


August's Lunar Eclipse

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Thu, 08/10/2017 - 20:27

August's Full Moon is framed in this sharp,


Density Waves in Saturns Rings from Cassini

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Wed, 08/09/2017 - 20:07

What causes the patterns in Saturn's rings?


Spiral Galaxy NGC 1512: The Inner Ring

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Tue, 08/08/2017 - 19:08

Most galaxies don't have any rings -- why does this galaxy have two?


Milky Way and Exploding Meteor

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Mon, 08/07/2017 - 18:00

Next weekend the


Gravity s Grin

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sun, 08/06/2017 - 17:33

Gravity s Grin


North North Temperate Zone Little Red Spot

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sat, 08/05/2017 - 16:02

On July 11, the Juno spacecraft once again swung near


Pelican Nebula Close Up

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Fri, 08/04/2017 - 15:34

The prominent ridge of emission featured in


The Dust Monster in IC 1396

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Thu, 08/03/2017 - 14:47

The Dust Monster in IC 1396


Perseid Meteors over Turkey

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Wed, 08/02/2017 - 12:54

The Perseid Meteor Shower, usually the best meteor shower of the year, will peak late next week.


Pluto Flyover from New Horizons

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Tue, 08/01/2017 - 11:29

What if you could fly over Pluto -- what might you see?


A Total Eclipse at the End of the World

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Mon, 07/31/2017 - 09:10

Would you go to the end of the world to see a total eclipse of the Sun?


Aurora Slathers up the Sky

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sun, 07/30/2017 - 07:52

Like salsa verde on your favorite burrito, a green


Noodle Mosaic of Saturn

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sat, 07/29/2017 - 06:44

On April 26 the Cassini spacecraft swooped toward Saturn on


Pages

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer